[Skip to Content]Privacy Policy
Reservations 1-844-569-8851 (U.S/Canada Toll Free)

Share Your Experience & Browse Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo Reviews

We love to welcome guests to our casual, carefree resort, perched on the shores of Flamingo Beach. Share your own Playa Flamingo hotel reviews and browse some of our latest reviews from recent guests. Long after you leave our friendly, intimate resort, we want the spirit of Pura Vida to keep warming your soul.
By submitting this review you agree that your personal information will be made public.
- Required
- Required
- Required
- Required

Tell us more about your stay

- Required
Captcha
  Guest   •   November 14, 2018

Visiting our son in college

As a Parrot Head Family meeting our son who is studying in Costa Rica as a PA student from Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia there wasn't much discussion as where to stay after we heard that Margaritaville Resort was opening the same weekend that we needed a couple night stay. From the moment we walked up to the massive Pop top and flipflop glass carving we realized we were in the right place. We were immediately greeted by happy welcoming people. That didn't stop for the next 2 days. I think we knew about 10 resort employees by name and most remembered ours. Including the general manager Pedro and the Brand representative / guest relations specialist. She seemed like she was everywhere and always greeted us with excitement. I joked asking if there were 5 or 6 of her. The all inclusive was a surprise to us and was a great value. We totally enjoyed the food and cocktails, especially at the swim up bar in the pool. This was our third beach in Costa Rica and definitely the most beautiful. Fine white sand was not the norm as we travelled around. This one was totally that. We all agreed that we would be back someday. Next time for longer so we can enjoy the surrounding area. On a 2 day trip we didn't want to leave for a minute. The way we were treated was just as Jimmy would have wanted. Where are there more resorts like this?
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
  Guest   •   August 20, 2018

Our perfect wedding 7/28/18 and group vacation

Vacation 7/25/18-8/1/18 ; Wedding 7/28/18 ; Total Group size: 59 ; Age Range: 3-80

July 28 2018 was hands down the best day and night of our lives. We got married at Flamingo Beach Resort and it was absolutely everything my husband and I hoped for and more! I actually cried while hugging Rosaura (the incredible on-site wedding coordinator), thanking her and telling her I didn't want to leave.

Our. group. was. large! We had 59 people total and the ages ranged from 3 to 80. Everyone did all-inclusive and got every penny worth. Every single person had nothing short of a BLAST. We were told by majority of our guests that it was the best wedding/vacation they had ever been to. I know I am bias, but it really was an unforgettable night and vacation.

To start from the beginning, we booked Flamingo Beach Resort in April 2017 after doing research on hotels in the Guanacaste area and made our decision with a heavy influence from tripadvisor. It is only right that I THANK all the past brides and guests of those weddings for their reviews, since their reviews were so on point and so helpful!! Linda, who is located in Florida, handles the business and contract side of things from the beginning. I had many phone conversations and emails with her and she was very patient with me and my questions. We booked this prior to the announcement of the rebranding to Margaritaville. Once the announcement was made, she assured me there would be no issues with the resort at the time of our wedding. I will note, the resort did have some minor renovations being done while we were there, but nothing too intrusive. This will not be an issue for anyone looking to vacation or get married there after they reopen!

About a year out from the wedding, I began communicating with Rosaura. Over the next year, we communicated frequently though email where I shared my thoughts and ideas and what I was hoping for. I wanted something simple but beautiful and very native to Costa Rica (flowers / décor). She kept assuring me everything would be perfect. AND MY GOODNESS, SHE WAS RIGHT!

We did a welcome party Friday evening in the garden at sunset with passed hors d'eouvres, private bartenders and a saxophonist. We had this gorgeous double rainbow appear just before the most colorful sunset I had ever seen. It was a beautiful night. We ended the night in the sunset lounge (as we did almost every night of our vacation)!

As for the wedding day: The girls got ready in our suite and Nadia did my hair and makeup (this is the person the resort does business with). I provided a separate review for her on wedding wire but she did a wonderful job and everyone was thrilled with how their hair and makeup came out (especially me). We were incredibly lucky with the weather and did not have a drop of rain! We had El Velo do our photography and we were over the moon with their services. We just received the sneak peak album and I am obsessed with the pictures!!!! We did a first look at the resort and got married on the beach at sunset. It was a beautiful ceremony and the guitar trio was a huge hit! The beach is a public beach, so we had some additional witnesses that were cheering us on and sharing in our experience which was pretty cool. The reception was held in the sunset lounge (closed for our party - but the pool bar stayed upon until 12 to accommodate other hotel guests). Our bartenders, Alex and Elias exceeded our expectations (see more on them below)! They were working their butts off and keeping up with all the drink requests. The food was SO good! Everyone kept complimenting how delicious everything was! We added some hors d'eourves before dinner to hold people over while we finished our pictures, before joining everyone in the sunset lounge. We opted for a DJ and provided a song list that literally had the dance floor full for the entire night! Elias broke out a stick and limbo ensued. I can not wait to see the video from the videographer! We requested (and paid for) a firework show at the end of the reception that Rosaura coordinated for us. It was the most grand and beautiful firework show I had ever seen in person! Everyone was raving about the entire evening! Rosaura literally brought everything we wanted to life and we are forever grateful to her. She literally made our dream wedding come true.

I can not emphasize this enough, THE ENTIRE STAFF AT FBR IS AMAZING!!!! We were told the staff will remain once the rebranding is complete, and I really hope that is true!! I have been to Costa Rica before, and knew the Ticos y Ticas were a friendly and welcoming group - but those who work at this resort go above and beyond for ALL their guests! From Day 1, we felt like we were friends with everyone! Alex is THE BEST!!! I genuinely hope to stay in touch with her forever. She was practically part of our group and none of us will ever forget her. Our wedding and vacation would not have been complete without her! And our man Elias was always on his toes and got us our drinks at rapid speeds. He was so super friendly and so hard working. We loved him. Eduardo and Bernardo (Luis) were awesome also!! Eduardo was our private waiter for our romantic dinner for two and he did a fantastic job! I can not think of one time during the entire vacation where I found the service to be anything less than outstanding, seriously. Side note, everyone at the resort seemed to know who my husband and I were and were extra accommodating to us, which was soooo heartwarming! If you are considering getting married here, just know that at least prior to Margaritaville rebranding, there was only ONE wedding in a weekend. Your wedding is the priority and you are treated like royalty. I think this is an underrated bonus with FBR and should definitely be considered. I will note that we (as a group from NY) did tip quite often, though not large dollar amounts. It was not expected and was greatly appreciated. Also,it is shared among the staff which was great to see!

As for the food, the best all-inclusive quality I have ever had! The chicken quesadillas were a total favorite across the board! That and the nachos were probably the most popular food items ordered at the pool bar. Capriccios (Italian Restaurant) was surprisingly awesome! Who knew Costa Rican's could make such good Italian food, seriously! Arena's menu is almost never-ending and everything I ate there that was delicious! I am not a seafood person unfortunately but the seafood options were apparently very good! The breakfast was buffet style with an omelet station and seemed to have something for everyone from pancakes to rice & beans to fruit loops. THE FRESH FRUIT IS TO DIE FOR. But that's Costa Rica in general. If you are in Costa Rica, you must take advantage of the best tasting fruit on earth!

OVERALL: This hotel is the perfect hotel for a Costa Rican vacation. It is small enough that you don't feel lost in a resort that separates you from what Costa Rica has to offer, the pool is huge, the swim up bar is awesome, and its steps from the beach. The food is fantastic, the staff is incredible and there's the all inclusive option! Some people rented golf cars and drove around to explore other beaches- this is something I would love to do on our next trip back, since we didn't have much down time with the wedding and entertaining guests! The spa service was awesome also-several people in our group got massages! I have been back home for 9 days and could cry thinking about how badly I wish we were back there. Everything was perfect. I plan to go back once the rebranding is done and really hope to see all the same faces! Pura Vida <3
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
  Guest   •   August 14, 2018

Fantastic Trip

Your hotel and staff were tremendous.I was there for my friends wedding and had the best time staying at your hotel.Not to mention the staff was great especially Alex,Lucy,Elias,and Jaime and I can't forget how great Rosaura was making my friends wedding perfect.Thank you
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
  Guest   •   July 05, 2018

Great place to stay!

My husband and I stayed here and we couldn't have asked for nicer place to stay. We had a nice relaxing stay and the staff was very friendly and ready to make your stay comfortable. Having the beach close was great for sunset pictures and listening to the waves at night was very relaxing.
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
  Guest   •   June 16, 2018

Wonderful Vacation

My husband and I had a great week at your hotel. Your staff was incredible from Stephanie at the front desk to Alexandra, Bernardo, Elias, and Orlando at the Sunset Lounge and everyone we met in between...Enrique, Wilbur, Morgan, Andreas, Louise, Lucas, and the gentleman cleaning the pool each morning who's name I did not get...thank you for you hospitality. FYI - breakfast management, please do not scold staff members in front of guests. Especially when they are able to be friendly and do their jobs. There are hotels and resorts all along the beaches, but the Flamingo Beach Resort was not only a great place to stay but full of people that made our stay a memorable experience. Thanks to everyone that shared a smile, a laugh, and your culture.
Service
Rooms
Quality
Value
Location
Cleanliness
previous
© 2018 Margaritaville Enterprises, LLC Margaritaville is a registered trademark of Margaritaville Enterprises, LLC and is used under license.
Make A Reservation